107 license

I am a 75 year old 107 licensed drone pilot. I have never really needed the license as my work is recreational but I feel ALL serious pilots should take the test just to understand safety and other issues that can be associated with flying drones. I studied only the FAA online material, l but I would recommend an online or in person course. Now I am learning (by experience, trial-and-error) how to capture and edit drone video. This is my sample video that has integrated 4 trips to a lighthouse over 2 years. I think it takes a 1000 hours to become an expert, but you need to enjoy the learning process each step of the way and just "go for it"! Link to training video:
Nice video. But are you sure that was all within VLOS? ;-)

Nice video. But are you sure that was all within VLOS? ;-)

Drone never more than 1000' from me or my spotter. Most videos like this one are taken one small clip at a time from within 1000' (usually within 500'). The main issue with this video was one case where no-one was present until a bus load emptied. Then I had to return another day to finish that day's work. Best times to shoot: 6-8 AM (after photographers leave; before tourist arrive) and 6-8 PM (after tourist leave and before photographers return).

Drone never more than 1000' from me or my spotter. Most videos like this one are taken one small clip at a time from within 1000' (usually within 500'). The main issue with this video was one case where no-one was present until a bus load emptied. Then I had to return another day to finish that day's work. Best times to shoot: 6-8 AM (after photographers leave; before tourist arrive) and 6-8 PM (after tourist leave and before photographers return).
I was teasing. I know *you* would *never* go beyond VLOS. ;-)