Sunset at Torrey Pines, La Jolla/San Diego, CA

Reaction score
I was in La Jolla for a 1 day video shoot of a different nature and decided to pack a bigger suitcase so I could bring my P3 4K. One of my first flights after getting the Itelite DBS for my P3 4K. I also used the P3 for the client shoot on their multi-building science campus.

As a videographer, I'm realizing I have to work diligently on my coordinated camera and flight moves/techniques to get more edit worthy videos.

You may think the music an odd choice, but I wanted something unique.

Reactions: Ed_2020
Love this! I’m currently en route to stay at Torrey Pines Lodge/Golf course - couldn’t help but bring my drone with me. I saw a web page saying “drones aren’t allowed in Torrey Pines Nature Preserve/State Park”, but do you think I’ll be okay to fly along the coast like you did and perhaps at La Jolla Cove?

Thanks for your love.

So, first time I've ever been to Torrey Pines. You're correct that there are no drones allowed in the TP State Nature Preserve, but you could probably fly from the beach adjacent, get a drones-eye view without flying over the preserve. There's one really interesting shot I wanted to do over the Los Penasquitos Lagoon. There's a railroad that runs right through the middle of it. I saw a cool YouTube of a drone flight over the Lagoon. Honestly, no one is gonna care if you fly over that lagoon. Carmel Valley Rd. runs along the North side of it with plenty of places to park, 15 minutes over the lagoon and skidaddle. I flew just North of the Gliderport. There is a massive, lengthy dirt parking area here where you can walk over to the cliff edge and fly without bugging anyone. One caveat... Black's beach (nude beach) is just South of the Gliderport. Respect the nudies and don't fly there.