Home Lock AND Course Lock....AND....

Reaction score
After owning my P1 (and NAZA V2) for a year I am just beginning to play with IOC. After confirming that the bird really would come straight home with a pull back I then began to wonder.....what would happen AFTER the bird passed over the home point if one continued to pull back on the stick? Today I tried that. The bird passed over me....AND KEPT GOING (South) even though the bird was nose North and I was pulling back on the stick.

Hmmmm... I went back to the DJI literature and found that, in Home Course and returning to Home Lock.....if the bird passes within 60 feet of the Home Lock position then Home Couse operation is disabled and IOC reverts to COURSE LOCK (even though the switch remains in HC position)!!! And indeed, my initial orientation was nose North....so pulling back on the stick made it go SOUTH....Course Lock)....away from the Home Lock position.

This is important for everyone using IOC Home Course as a safety RTH system to realize. You can only use it ONCE if you pass near the Home Lock position. If you are playing around, use it to RTH, then....with no change in your switch positions or other indication from the bird (other than responding differently to the stick controls)....you are NO LONGER in Home Course IOC!!

What I couldn't determine from the DJI literature is whether the original Home Lock position is then lost?? There are ways of RE-setting Home Lock in flight by toggling the IOC switch, but if after passing close, without toggling, can one switch IOC to Off and then back to HC....and re-enable Home Course WITHOUT re-setting the Home Lock position?

It seems, from my experience, that the bird can simultaneously record BOTH Course Lock direction AND Home Lock position.