Zenmuse Gimbal Lock Add-on

Reaction score
thedjiguy said:
I can't give you an exact time, but think about it. Rather than the gimbal slamming into the motors over and over again, it is in the upright position, how it was made to be.

Yeah, I've thought about it. The gimbal isn't "slamming into the motors."

The motors are merely rotating on their bearings and stopping at the endpoint of their travel.

This is a solution looking for a problem. I have a gimbal that has been transported for almost a year on my backpack. Hiking, mountain biking, on the boat, etc. No issues.

I disagree. I have seen many times when people turn on their Phantom with Zenmuse installed but don't have the GoPro on the Zenmuse, the Zenmuse slams back and forth repeatedly and sometimes ruins the gimbal.

Just another thing to buy and keep track of. Save the $20 and use a cloth or a pair of socks to get exactly the same result.

What you use to get the result is purely up to you. Remember, i'm not the one selling the product, I am merely reviewing it. If you think that a sock will do the job, go for it. I am all for DIY, but some professionals who are getting paid don't want a sock hanging off their equipment.

thedjiguy said:
I disagree. I have seen many times when people turn on their Phantom with Zenmuse installed but don't have the GoPro on the Zenmuse, the Zenmuse slams back and forth repeatedly and sometimes ruins the gimbal.

Good grief, that is a completely different (and rare) occurrence.

An unpowered motor flopping around on its bearings is no big. Caveat emptor.

Anyone who is getting paid to do professional video/pictures. Personally I would not want to show up to a gig with a sock hanging off my Phantom if I was getting paid. Maybe it's just me, but I think a lot of people feel the same. Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to email me: [email protected] so we don't clog the forum up.

thedjiguy said:
Anyone who is getting paid to do professional video/pictures.