You guys shoot in .RAW? .JPEG? What's best?

I shoot only raw .dng

pros: needs more tweaking but the results are rewarding. I use Adobe Lightroom on OS X.

cons: takes more time and HD space.

P3P .dng seems to have less depth than raw files from DSLR cameras like Canon 6D, however.

I use P3P LOG color profile. Occasionally I grab a frame from 4K 4096/3840 x 2160 footage as .tif and post-process it in Lightroom and the result doesn't much differ from real raw .dng input.

Reactions: Falcon900
The Phantom can produce quite good jpg files and some prefer shooting Raw to try to squeeze a little more quality out.
But that comes at the price of longer recording times and more effort required in Photoshop to get good results.
I do all my shooting in jpg and get excellent results
DJI_0769a-X2.jpg

Thanks for the responses guys. I just started shooting in RAW and some of the photos are very soft-focus, seem almost out of focus..was just wondering if anyone had any tips etc.

Thanks for the responses guys. I just started shooting in RAW and some of the photos are very soft-focus, seem almost out of focus..was just wondering if anyone had any tips etc.

Focus is done entirely with the lens. JPG or RAW will have nothing to do with it.

I think you mean to say the RAW images aren't as sharp. What are you using to view/edit your RAW images?

Yes, the Raw images aren't as sharp. I am using Adobe Photoshop now, before I was using a free editing product IrfanView

Photoshop is a good package to use.. (Adobe created the DNG format).

I'm guessing that you need to apply sharpening to the RAW images that you're editing. This is done automatically when the camera creates JPEG files, but not necessarily when it saves the RAW info from the sensor.