Yet Another Filter Thread

Reaction score
Sorry, I tried to search for this, but there is so much conflicting information. I'm trying to sort it all out.

I'm a hobbyist, not a pro. I want to step up my game and ND filters appear to be a necessity. OK, I get that. Let's buy some. My thinking is I'll need to get down to a ND32. We have sunny days with snow and from what I've read, a ND32 should get me where I need to be. But I want a pack so I have some options.

The general consensus is shoot at twice the shutter speed as your framerate. Also shoot in a 2-3-2 configuration with a Log profile to give a flat footage. Ideal conditions for post-processing your video. So far, I suck at color grading but I'm guessing that has something to do with not having filters.

Question #1
Am I wrong about thinking I need a ND32 filter? More? Less?

Question(s) #2
If I'm trying to shoot flat looking video, why would I want a polarizing (ND or non-ND) filter? That would give me higher saturation correct? Do I have to compensate for that? If I'm already at -2, I thought -3 is as far as you can go. The only reason I know of in photography as an example of glare off of water. Polar pro filters offer 3 polarizing filters and 3 non-polarizing filters. Why? And the 3 pack only contains 2 ND filters, which I don't think offer enough stops. Maybe I'm wrong. Just don't want to pay for something I don't use.

Question #3
Do I need to do post color grading? Will a polarizing ND filter give me look better than trying to create one?

Question(s) #4
Taco-RC offers a 4 pack that goes down to a ND32. Looks like a good buy, more to what I think I'm looking for. But then there is the multicoated and non-multicoated version. I'm assuming the difference is the level of protection in the lens? Is it worth the extra money?