Yes, another post-Christmas noob. Hi!

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
While my Phantom wasn't really a Christmas present I did get it a few days after in a trade.
A friend owned it before me and upgraded. I was interested in his old flyer so… here I am.

I look forward to reading through the forum and figuring out what exactly I have, the latest modifications and how to be a responsible and legal flyer.

As with all hobbies there is nomenclature to learn so I'll be a dope for a little while as I get it figured out.

I've restored musclecars, built furniture, been into firearms and do a little fine art for hobbies.
I'm looking forward to exploring my new interest and appreciate the help you folks already provide!

I work as an educational technologist and disruptive technologies interest me. My plan is to use my new quad in teaching my lessons next year.
I have done video for events on a college campus and specialize in instructional design so this device and my prior video experiences should dovetail nicely.

If anyone wanted to point me to the FAQs or noob section I would greatly appreciate it.
Anyone who really learned a lot from a particular Youtube vid when getting started started would also be helpful if you don't mind posting a link.

Here is the complete setup I acquired

1606836_878466158842392_7132408574571323972_n.jpg

Nice. You have the Phantom 1 - the original Phantom and my favorite.
Make sure your battery door is securely closed and latched before launching! It is a very tight fit with a battery in there, get the cables off to the side so that door will catch when it shuts. I was under 10 flights when my battery dropped out of the door at about 150 feet. I cringed as I watched everything plummet to the ground. Had to rebuild after that crash. I added a strip of Velcro to the outside of the door to further secure it. I've seen larger door covers to replace the stock one as well.