Yaw drift question ?

Reaction score
I am new to this. Had my P3A for about 2 months. I did a IMU calibration after fw update and now when I yaw while in a hover there is a slight drift, when I first got it, it would yaw on a dime. I have now done another IMU calibration ( using a sheet of glass over motor and level), but same results.
I have searched the forums for solutions and all the threads I came up with were for the p2. In those threads they suggest doing a calibration with it shimmed to one side or the other, making it in unlevel for calibration.
I did not find any threads on the subject about the P3. So I'm wondering if I should try this unlevel imu thing or not ? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks !!

A shot in dark: Try calibrating your sticks.

When calibrating sticks, is there a certain pattern to follow when moving sticks ? Maybe I'm not doing it right ?? That's the only thing I can think of. Also thanks for the reply.
I have noticed you are always trying to help those of us that are less knowledgeable, it's greatly appreciated!!

The sticks have nothing to do with the yaw drift.

Yaw drift is from a poorly installed IMU or from failed calibrations.
Its possible that the main board or the IMU processor unit is installed wonky. The only way to get a perfect yaw drift is to open her up and make sure the main board is dead flat and the IMU box is dead flat.
Another thing that you may consider is doing IMU calibrations when the Phantom is cold so the IMU calibrations apply. It's known that when the Phantom idle for a long time, the board warms up and causes the IMU calibrations to fail or take longer than normal.

The sticks have nothing to do with the yaw drift.

Yaw drift is from a poorly installed IMU or from failed calibrations.
Its possible that the main board or the IMU processor unit is installed wonky. The only way to get a perfect yaw drift is to open her up and make sure the main board is dead flat and the IMU box is dead flat.