Wrecked 3 Phantom 2 batteries. What would you do?

Reaction score
Ok, so I got the Phantom 2 when it came out and I have 3 batteries. I completely mishandled them, recharging them before storing, storing for long periods, etc. All of it, my fault.

Anyways, my P2 is completely kitted out, gimbal, mini iOSD, Hero 3, FPV, flysight, etc. All the goodies. Would it be better to get 2-3 new batteries and continue on my way or get 1 new battery and sell the whole lot and try for a P3 or save up and get the Inspire? I'm a pretty good pilot (except for maintenance obvs) and the cheaper way is just new batteries.

Other than battery mistreatment is there anything else that could cause the charge to go from 88% to 50% to 7% in a span of a few minutes?

Thoughts?

Thanks,
John

No other than bad battery firmware and since DJI pulled the plug on v2.6 battery shortly after it came out in Oct 14 there's no way update older batteries. And of course DJI could care less.

Reactions: mad in nc
You could try doing depleting the battery down so low that it doesn't come on.. no green lights... then do a full charge to 100%.

See if that resolves it... What does the PC software say about the battery? any errors?

Angle grinders, drills, hedge cutters,strimmers can all be bought using reliable battery technology and there`s lots more other products besides. DJI couldn`t give a toss and used an inferior battery in their Phantom 2`s and gave up trying to rectify the problem. Maybe they should have had a word with Bosch, De Walt, Panasonic :rolleyes:

Other than battery mistreatment is there anything else that could cause the charge to go from 88% to 50% to 7% in a span of a fe...

P2 over weight (above 1300 grams) causes this battery % drops (early auto land), hope this helps.

Edit: To be more precise, I start to get trouble around 1320 grs.

Last edited:
P2 over weight (above 1300 grams) causes this battery % drops (early auto land), hope this helps.