Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Will ipad2 work with p3s rc?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by phantom_dawg, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. phantom_dawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a new p3s and am using an iphone6 to connect to the rc. It is almost impossible to read. I bought a shade device and have to wear reading glasses to see it but am still having trouble reading it.

    I have an older ipad2 that I am thinking about trying. Will this work with the p3 standard? Is there a device holder available for the p3s that will hold an ipad2? Should I admit to myself that my eyes are too bad and I am too old to be a drone pilot and find another hobby?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. LK8472

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    SWFL
    I would not recommend using iPad 2. The list of compatible devices can be found on the DJI site. Here is a screen grab. [​IMG]

    Seeing as it technically can run iOS 8 doesn't mean you should use it. Also, the thing many people overlook with the iPads is that unless you have a cellular version of he iPad, it has no internal GPS chipset so you can't use any of the functions that require gps on the device e.g. Follow me. iPhone 6 is more than capable. I use it often. I also have a iPad mini 2 which I ordered a 3D printed adapter that can clamp into the existing one on the standards' RC. That option would be available to you if you decide to go that route anyways.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,641
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    The iPad 2 is too slow. You can find a list of recommending and commonly used tablets here.
     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    599
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I got an Ipad 2 to work, by using some tips on the forum. You fly to a location then hover then wait for the screen to catch up (about 2 seconds). Then you can tell what the camera is looking at.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,641
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Haha, right on. Nobody should be flying like this :)
     
  6. phantom_dawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds like I should go with an iPad mini cellular version. The iPhone6 works fine but the Dji app has just to busy of a screen for that size device. I am seventy years old and even with reading glasses it is very difficult to see especially on a bright sunny day. Thanks for the replies.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Nabzo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    get ipad 2 min
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - ipad2 p3s Forum Date
Can't log in to ground station on IPAD2 DJI Ground Station Jan 24, 2017
Autopilot bombing out on iPad2 Phantom 4 Discussion Sep 3, 2016
Ipad2 General Discussion May 22, 2016
P3A rc won't charge iphone5c or ipad2 mini Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 14, 2016
IPAD2 OK? Pro/Adv Discussion Dec 29, 2015