WIFI Range

Reaction score
I know it has been talked about, I've read the post but,, in order to get a better WIFI range is it possible just to disable what is currently installed and start over?? If so how to proceed? As you can tell I am just getting started. Like the FC40 just terrible WIFI range. I also would like to install an OSD, any suggestions

mrself58 said:
I know it has been talked about, I've read the post but,, in order to get a better WIFI range is it possible just to disable what is currently installed and start over?? If so how to proceed? As you can tell I am just getting started. Like the FC40 just terrible WIFI range. I also would like to install an OSD, any suggestions

You can search the forum for wifi repeaters and set one of those up.

I've had my FC40 out to just over 220m in a built up residentail area and still had perfectly good wifi for the video feed.
at that distance the fc40 is just a blip.

Make sure you have a good class 10 sd card in it....it will make all the difference in the world on your range..

Nada1 said:
Make sure you have a good class 10 sd card in it....it will make all the difference in the world on your range..

wait a minute.... WHAT?!
I'd like to label that as big time misinformation unless im missing something on how the FC40 works.
But the class of an SD card is just about write speeds and has no effect on the wifi signal.

I thought the same thing until I was advised otherwise......the camera will always write before it transmits.....so if it takes some time to write to the card, you will loose wifi.....I know, i was not a believer, unable to see how the two were tied, but it makes a BIG difference

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=11916

Nada1 said:
I thought the same thing until I was advised otherwise......the camera will always write before it transmits.....so if it takes some time to write to the card, you will loose wifi.....I know, i was not a believer, unable to see how the two were tied, but it makes a BIG difference