Why is sky all white in sunny weather?

Reaction score
When i film with my P4 in clear blue sky and strong sun the film comes out with a totally white sky...

I want to captures the true beauty of the sky, but can't when the weather is like that..

Is this an ISO setting ? Im a noob on that term you can see.. could someone try explain it? :)

Thanks in advance guys!

When i film with my P4 in clear blue sky and strong sun the film comes out with a totally white sky...
I want to captures the true beauty of the sky, but can't when the weather is like that..
Is this an ISO setting ? Im a noob on that term you can see.. could someone try explain it?
It sounds like you are shooting toward the sun with a dark foreground and bright sky above that.
The camera meter looks at the scene and gives a nice average exposure - which is no good at all because you have too much difference between the brightness of foreground and sky.
Just as it's not good to stare at the sun, it's not good to shoot towards the sun.
Turn your Phantom around and shoot with the sun instead of against it.

Reactions: Mads

Is this an ISO setting ? Im a noob on that term you can see.. could someone try explain it? :)

Thanks in advance guys!

It's probably as @Meta4 stated, but can you post an example?

I uploaded an example with original on left. On right i used lumitri colorfilter(Adobe premiere) because the film was so bright.. well i think the colors are much better after the filter, but sky is still white..

OK - yes - simply too much dynamic range for the camera with such a light sky and a dark ground. For video you may simply have to expose for one or the other. For photos you can bracket the exposure to create an HDR version with a higher dynamic range than the bit depth of the sensor.