Why is my footage getting crappier?

Reaction score
Hi guys, new to the forum. I'm hoping you can help me.

I have a phantom 2 with H3-3d gimbal and a go pro hero 3+ with a ND filter.

I started out using the 1080p @ 30fps settings and got some nice, smooth footage. Since then I've fooled around with different settings, but it seems like my footage is getting less and less smooth no matter what I do.

I tried shooting at 60fps and for some reason this caused a visible "wobble" in my footage.

I tried shooting with protune on, but I can never seem to get the colors to look natural in post (I'm no expert, have played around with iMovie and Premiere)

Lately it seems that I'm dogged by choppiness. Take a look at this video:

http://youtu.be/BULfUr4fbDs

Seems a tad bit choppy all around, but particularly when I'm rotating or moving sideways. These clips were put together using iMovie, applying the stabilizer filter to the whole thing. They were shot in 2k @ 25fps.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

I'd be suspecting the efficiency of your Zenmuse. But I wonder why you're using a stabiliser in post-pro? Surely if you feel the need to apply it then once again the gimbal might not be as young and healthy as it used to be.

Thanks for your reply. The gimbal is not old, I only purchased the unit a few months ago. I did crash it pretty good one time, and the one "arm" of the gimbal (where the rubber bits attach) got slightly bent out, but we were able to bend it back and had gotten some good video out of it since then. Also of note, ever since that crash all the videos have a very high-pitched squeal sound, I assume that's from the gimbal as well. Maybe I just suck it up and replace the gimbal?

Does the raw footage have the same choppiness? This looks like more of a compression/codec issue on the video, and less an issue with the gimbal or vibrations from the quad.