Who is currently grounded and why?

Reaction score
As some may remember I flew my Fantom into a small lake about 5 or 6 weeks ago. I lost the camera and battery. Replaced them and it was flying again but it didn't seem to have the steady lock in the air it once had. About 2 weeks ago I got my Rotorpixal Gimbal and had a couple of test flights. The first in a fairly high wind so the somewhat erratic behavior was dismissed. The next morning in calm winds it again flew badly. Climbing and going off to one side. I decided to take it apart again to inspect it. I found on close observation the shell had a series of cracks in it. I ordered a new shell and in the mean time re cleaned internal connectors and motors. I found some light rusting in the motors BTW. Got the new shell in and put it all back together, calibrated and flew. It was worse! It tried to climb very quickly by itself and Spinning so I ended up crashing it on purpose into a small tree in my yard to keep it from leaving or worse, crashing on the pavement. Lost a prop and one motor came apart! No other damage. So I've been grounded trying to decide my next move.

I ended up ordering a P2V craft only for $499.00. When it comes in I will test it first, and if all is well mount the gimbal/camera on it and hopefully get back in the air!

I suspect water got into the NAZA MC unit and possibly caused some damage that appeared to get worse with time. I may try swapping the MC later to see about fixing the first one. If that works I'll also buy new motors.

Geo

jimre said:
I'm grounded because the weather SUCKS!
This.

I've had my Phantom for almost 2 weeks and only had about 4 decent days.
More rain expected 8 of the next 10 days :roll:

April showers bring May showers apparently...

I'm grounded until my new replacement gets here Tuesday.
My P2V+ had a malfunctioning barometer. Luckily I purchased it from DDM! They handled all the communication with dji for me and replaced it with a brand new one!