When to uswitch to NAZA mode and erratic behaviour questions

Reaction score
Hello All:

I'm new to the world of quad flying but have been flying RC for a long time. I've recently purchased a DJI Phantom 2 and have read about switching to NAZA mode but not until you've become "experienced". Can anyone give some feedback on what level of experience one would need to make the switch and is it something I should entertain doing?

Also, on my first couple of flights, in GPS lock, the Phantom has performed flawlessly until about 10 minutes into the flight when it started to erratically swing back and forth and lose altitude. I managed both times to recover but found it unnerving to say the least. I did notice on both occasions that the unit didn't appear to loose GPS signal as there was no change in the lights. I am flying at the moment with the prop guards on and seem to recall reading about a negative effect that these may have. Both times were in large open areas with no electrical interference in the area and the compass has been calibrated. Any thoughts or observations on what I may be doing wrong would be very helpful and I offer my sincere Thank in advance for any advice.

Cheers!

Re: When to uswitch to NAZA mode and erratic behaviour quest

I was new to RC and switched to Naza before my first flight. I just made sure I understood how each function worked beforehand.

Absolutely switch to naza mode and enjoy the options.

Were you descending when you had the problems? There is an issue when descending into your own prop wash. Do you have the latest software installed? If you are using FPV can you list your setup as with the prop guards it may be overweight a bit.

Tom

xgeek said:
I was new to RC and switched to Naza before my first flight. I just made sure I understood how each function worked beforehand.

Me too :cool: