Whcih Drone! Phantom2 / F550 or Something Else, Sorry!

Reaction score
Hi All

Sorry to post this as I hate posting questions like this but I still cant decide what to purchase and want an expert opinion having read countless articles on this now (which still leaves me a complete novice in this field!). Really appreciate any thoughts and help!

My situation is I run a production company and one idea we discussed was offering Arial filming. I don't want to start with a £7k drone and send it up with another £20k of kit and crash it so looking at something to get started but more to have a play first and maybe offer filming to some of our good clients via the GoPro as an extra rather than anything else. I ideally want to spend say £1.5k and then buy the GoPro Hero4 on top. If its successful then down the line we will look to fly something bigger with decent camera.

After a lot of reading, I was going to go for a DJI F550, Zenmuse H3-3D Gimbal, Naza M V2, iPad Ground station, iOSD MiniKit, the Immersion 5.8Ghz 600mw Video Link, BlackPearl FPV monitor, a Futaba T8J transmitter, 4 Batteries, Charger and the accessories like batteries, Ariels, Camera Mounting Kit etc.

However after popping into a local shop for bit more information and to see what these are like I left with more options than that! I was told I will need a BNUC license which will cost maybe £1000-£2000 but no one seems to mention that. Whilst I don't want to film commercially to start with, I do eventually want to offer that, and to test with our close clients. If this is critical to have now or something to get later and why isn't this advertised more or is this something that the CAA would prefer you have and is more an option? (the official website wouldn't even connect earlier for information on it!)