WHAT IS THE COMPASS 'DANCE' RADIUS.

Reaction score
This may seem to be a bit of an odd question but I have seen several different answers to this. Some say that you should re calibrate at 'every' new location regardless of distance apart. Others say you have to travel many miles before this becomes necessary. So which is right.

As I live on an island I cannot go MANY miles before falling into the sea, As I live at one end of the island the furthest I could go is 20 miles. So would ONE 'dance do the job.
I moved on up to the P2V+ from the old original purely because as a photographer I was hooked by the self centering sticks and the waypoint facility. I will never fly ATTI only GPS. If I lose connection it will just have to 'Go Home' . For me it is just out to a POI photographs and return.

This particular Phantom was a lemon right out of the box. Never flew, only crashed. So it had to go back for overhaul. I still have NO faith in it until it proves itself. In fact I will only do tethered vertical tests at first, and gradually move on up until I feel it will behave.
Just now waiting for a decent day to do a first flight.

Best to all out there

POTO

phantomoperator said:
This may seem to be a bit of an odd question but I have seen several different answers to this. Some say that you should re calibrate at 'every' new location regardless of distance apart. Others say you have to travel many miles before this becomes necessary. So which is right.

As I live on an island I cannot go MANY miles before falling into the sea, As I live at one end of the island the furthest I could go is 20 miles. So would ONE 'dance do the job.

Contentious topic. Some will even advocate calibrating every flight!
The calibrate every time people will say they are right and others will say that's wrong.
Here's my take on it and you'll find lots of opinions of others in the same thread.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=22435&p=205776#p205776