What a difference proper software makes

Reaction score
Hey all - I finally downloaded Paintshop Pro x8. To say the difference in the end result is night and day would be a complete injustice! I haven't ever cared one bit about photography until now, and I've had no previous experience. Here are two of the most recent shots I took before getting decent software - keep in mind they're some of the best I'd taken and both had pretty remarkable conditions!

And now, post-decent software, here's one from yesterday and one from today:

Seriously, take the plunge - I was using Picasa before but real postprocessing software has opened my eyes to what our birds are truly capable of.

And, droning was fun before, but this is just ridiculous - this evening I was driving home when I saw that magnificent sky in the last picture, so I pulled over like I was having a stroke and got her in the air.

Learn a. how to do HDR (high dynamic range, which most of our shots will be since they'll likely involve both bright sky and dark land) and how to use layers in the software - neither one is difficult but they're complete gamechangers.

Happy flying, all!

I'm sorry but the first two are much nicer and more natural looking photos.

What you should do is shoot raw images, expose for the highlights and bump up the shadows in post.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Reactions: 4wd
Haha - well I tried! Welcome to the forum, mangoman - honored to be your first post. I do shoot raw but for such sharp differences in light, I just can't get one image to do it all well. But, I am far from done learning - here's a link to a reasonably exposed RAW - would be grateful for you to process it so I can see the difference.

Monkeychops, here's a great tutorial on HDR:

How to Shoot and Post-Process Professional HDR Photos in One Day

And here's a series of *six* tutorials on layers - each video is brief and doesn't move terribly fast, but it does deliver the information.