Western North Carolina.

I'm in Travelers Rest SC but play in western NC a lot. Where are you at? I am new and learning.

Hi! I'm living an hour west of Asheville in the SW corner of North Carolina. I'm a real newbie, having just purchased a new Phantom 2 with a gimbal and a GoPro Hero3+ camera. My first Phantom flight has not happened yet, as the wind is howling outside, so my experience is currently limited to trying to gain some flying skills with a little Syma X1 quadcopter in my living room without hurting anyone. (Someone said it might be a good idea to experience your first crashes with a $50 toy rather than a Phantom 2.) I sure hope the 6 axis Phantom 2 is a lot easier to fly than the little 3 axis Syma X1!
When the weather gets better, maybe we could get a group together to meet in Asheville on a nice, calm Saturday morning to share some knowledge, and/or possibly share a meal together (iHop?). I haven't even looked for a place to fly yet, so I'm wondering if I'll run into trouble with the local authorities when I do.
If any of you are interested, I'd be up for a meeting in late April or early May (on semi-short notice as the weather forecast can change pretty quickly). Maybe we could meet up for a late breakfast (10:00 am) and then go flying for a couple of hours. Anyone else think they'd like to meet in Asheville sometime?