Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

WEAK CONTROLLER SIGNAL!!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Edv21985, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. Edv21985

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    So I got the Argtek installed last night and took it for a flight and flying West I was able to go 800ft out at 200 ft up, flying North only 650-680 before the signal just dropped to one red bar and Weak controller signal flashed in the top left corner.I'm no understanding how people are getting 4-5000 ft with these when I can barely get 1000!!I tried adjusting the antenna several times and taking it back out all with the same result. This just doesn't make sense. Is there something wrong with this Phantom 3s?I need help, getting really frustrated!!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    fly at 400 feet and see what you get if busy wifi area go higher should help
     
  3. Edv21985

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'll try,but this was in Metroparks only thing around where a few houses and a lot of trees!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    trees can due it cause weak signal try what I said and ley us know if its better
     
  5. Edv21985

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    7
    Empty all programs from your device (Apple) by double clicking home button and swiping the pages off the device. Reboot by holding on/off button for 5 seconds. Start back up. Put device in airplane mode. Turn on DJI App
    Now...Your device is "flight mode"
    I also added copper antenna signal range boosters. Found on Amazon.
     
  7. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    361
    Go higher.
     
  8. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    361
    Also try posting in the P3 Standard section. You will probably get more answers.
     
  9. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    62
    The wires on the argtek kit are only soldered to the rpsma connectors. If you did the mod yourself I'd check that. They can break off easily and if handled roughly can easily get loose.
     
  10. Edv21985

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Do you mean inside the antennas bar that mounts on top of the controller?Maybe I should take that apart and check the soldier joints, then silicone then for extra protection


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    7
    One more setting to check...
    Inthe App
    Click "HD"
    Image Transmission Settings.
    Click "Custom"
    Select "Channel Mode 20"
    Slide Transmission Quality to its lowest
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - WEAK CONTROLLER SIGNAL Forum Date
Weak controller signal after latest firmware update Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Jun 12, 2017
Weak controller signal / Other issues second flight Pro/Adv Discussion May 4, 2017
Weak controller signal!! At about 250ft ! Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 5, 2017
Standard Weak Signal when "low" Controller Battery Phantom 3 Help Feb 15, 2017
Remote Controller Signal Weak Standard/4k Discussion Dec 13, 2016