Vortex Generators on a Standard Props.

Reaction score
After 30 minutes filming in dusk today to capture some thunderstorms, did a lot of bug smashing.

Cleaning the props I noticed some interesting design features.

On the standard props, just inboard from the point of maximum chord, and also maximum camber on the leading edge are four small vortex generators.

Almost invisible, and very easy to "sand off" for those that insist on perfectly balanced props I wonder just how much these almost invisible design features affect flying qualities.

As a former airline pilot I am very conscious of just how much these small things can affect efficiency and flying qualities of an aircraft. next time you go flying in a jet look out the window and you will see them.

Do these exist on every DJI prop?

I have DJI stock 9450 props (on a P2V+). The only possible vortex generators on these are the part number and DJI logo.

Your right! Had a close look under bright light, and that is exactly what they are!
Maybe thinking DJI are more advanced in design than they actually are, however there is a very exact science on propeller/wing design (propellers are just wings that go round and round) and camber, chord, Angle of attach are critical.
I often wonder what decision making process goes into the final production design, or whether it is just whether it looks sexy!

After 30 minutes filming in dusk today to capture some thunderstorms, did a lot of bug smashing.

Cleaning the props I noticed some interesting design features.

On the standard props, just inboard from the point of maximum chord, and also maximum camber on the leading edge are four small vortex generators.

Almost invisible, and very easy to "sand off" for those that insist on perfectly balanced props I wonder just how much these almost invisible design features affect flying qualities.