Updating the Vision firmware

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here. New to quadcopters, new to the forum, spend my whole life flying about in fullsize helicopters and messing with technology so have a reasonable understanding of concepts...

My vision has about 2 hrs flying hrs logged, and two red battery drops from the sky - one out of sight and wifi. WHen it got home, I looked at the video - it had crashed onto a residential street, somehow corrected itself (you could see the red LEDs flashing on the road) lifted again and found its way home. The luckiest break I think I deserve. Anyway, self imposed grounding until a solution, which 'seems' to have appeared. Could one of you fabulous pro's write out a simple step by step 'how-to' to take the vision out of the box and update everything that needs updating? The Control Transmitter, the phantom, the iPhone.... anything else? The transmitter needs breaking into? What order to do it in.... all that sort of stuff, and if you could spare some photos / screenshots it would be really, really appreciated.

I have a Mac computer, iphone 5, Vision as delivered, and at the moment everything seems to be working well. Don't want to end up with it not working!!

Hope someone will take pity on me.......

Cheers N

Thats brilliant. Many thanks

Now I just need to work out what IOC and CL that everyone is so excited about is, and I'll be set.

Still think a sticky with a concise update post, a glossary of what the extra functions are, and how to use them and so on would be really useful. The vision has attracted loads of people like me for who this is a brand new adventure. This seems to be the most helpful and friendly forum I have ever visited, so hopefully someone might.

Of course, in the parallel universe I live in, the manufacturer would be doing this rather than leaving it to their customers, but hey...