Updated firmware to 1.8 for third test flight , first time over water

Joined
Jan 4, 2017
Messages
42
Reaction score
15
Age
42
Hey all I was filming my third ever flight since getting my P3standard. I know I'm moving left and right to fast just in the camera view just trying to get my bearings . Updated firmware from in the box 1.5 to 1.8 via the Dji go app 3.1.2 on iPhone 7 . Not terribly exciting and no sound but thought I would share anyhow .




Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2017
Messages
42
Reaction score
15
Age
42
I did not have any issues prior to updating , I figured best time is a month into warranty lol . I only get my personal best a little over 1000 feet away and 279 elevation as the max is 300 here in Canada


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
2,745
Reaction score
1,387
Age
60
Location
Western Australia
Well done, if this is your first drone. You updated your firmware, flew over water, didn't throw it into a tree and got your first footage. Cheers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dragonwar
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
1,401
Reaction score
343
Age
36
Location
Southampton United Kingdom
Good work bro, ill tell ya that's a nice video but with a touch editing and some music it would be an excellent video :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dragonwar
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Age
54
I did not have any issues prior to updating , I figured best time is a month into warranty lol . I only get my personal best a little over 1000 feet away and 279 elevation as the max is 300 here in Canada


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
I was beginning to think I was one of the few owners who gets only a limited range. On the weekend for the first time, travelling in one direction, I achieved a flight distance of about a 1000 ft.
I have ordered the Argtek range extender, as flying in a built up area gives constant intereference warnings.
Anyway more importantly great brave first video!
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
1,401
Reaction score
343
Age
36
Location
Southampton United Kingdom
This range difference between people is certainly and strange / interesting subject.

This is one of my 1st flights with my phantom. It has the latest firmware and was in a fairly open field. I was however getting a strong interference warning. I managed 1400ft but I also have the max distance set at 1400ft in the DJI App. So if I changed that I'm confident it would have gone further.

I wonder how altitude plays its part in this? Im sure ive read higher altitudes can give better signal strength?

 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
668
Reaction score
216
Location
Nova Scotia , Canada
Farthest I gone with my stock P3S is 613 m / 2010 ft , 300 ft altitude , heavily forested area , full video and control but lots of signal lost warnings , haven't pushed it to disconnect / RTH yet .
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
2,745
Reaction score
1,387
Age
60
Location
Western Australia
This range difference between people is certainly and strange / interesting subject.

This is one of my 1st flights with my phantom. It has the latest firmware and was in a fairly open field. I was however getting a strong interference warning. I managed 1400ft but I also have the max distance set at 1400ft in the DJI App. So if I changed that I'm confident it would have gone further.

I wonder how altitude plays its part in this? Im sure ive read higher altitudes can give better signal strength?

Altitude plays a big part, ease it up once you start losing signal until it comes back and repeat. My record with a windsurfer was 1800m at 200mtrs altitude. Before I get hammered, I was flying in the Philippines in a clearing in the jungle. Great experience.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
97
Reaction score
73
Age
55
Location
Abbotsford, BC
Hey Dragonwar, how's things on the island?
Don't forget that 300ft (90m) limit is only a recommendation from Transport Canada not an actual rule as yet. You are a good distance from Nanaimo airport so pushing your altitude up to 400ft shouldn't be too much of a problem. Do you see much light aircraft traffic around there? Floatplanes out of Nanoose bay?
How was your video/control strength when you were out to 1000ft? I have been out to 350m at 50m altitude here in the valley and still had good signal on both.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2017
Messages
42
Reaction score
15
Age
42
I'm good thanks Gbmarsh64 there are no float planes in Westwood as per no boats with gas either . I never see much traffic here . My video signal never cut out at all . Control was fine too . Just get the usual " strong interference detected be careful flying long distances " after the 1.8 update but otherwise flies and does what it should .


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,402
Messages
1,410,623
Members
99,211
Latest member
anfema