Unlock 32ch great result

Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
37
Reaction score
2
I just unlocked dji go app to 32 ch to recieve signal better.what a great result!
My bird is PT 3 adv all stock from box and flied in same area.She can go 4.5 km after 32ch before that she can go only 2-2.5 km in this area.

 
Joined
Jul 15, 2016
Messages
251
Reaction score
108
Age
36
I've considered doing this, but read that it can void your 12 month warranty if DJI observes that you've tampered with the software/firmware. Can anyone confirm?

Also, isn't it technically illegal to tap into the ISM frequency channels? I doubt you'd ever get in trouble, but imagine that us "civilians" aren't granted access for a reason. Either way, seems like a cool/easy mod.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
37
Reaction score
2
It's just add some file in your device no need to do any thing with software or firmware in PT3.
 

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,322
Location
San Francisco, CA
Why should 32 ch hack void the warranty?


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,376
Reaction score
3,149
Location
Western US
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
8
Age
47
Location
NJ, USA
You're not modifying any software on the aircraft nor the remote control. From what I gather the AC is always broadcasting 32 channels by default DJI only allows 8 to constantly scan across. This Mod is done locally on your viewing device (i.e Apple/Android device) allowing the DJI Go App to see all 32 channels the remaining 24 channels have to be manually selected. The downfall is, if you manually select one of these other channels and you loose signal.. you loose control/video of the aircraft until the channel signal comes back or it RTH. I personally have not noticed a difference either way, I have the Argtek Antenna Mod on my RC and use the Litchi App, but never fly my P3A out of line of sight anyway. If I were to suggest anything it would be the antenna mod you will get more consistent results (Yes it voids the warranty)
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
4,308
Reaction score
936
Location
Indy, USA
Because you'd technically be tampering with the DJI Go application/software.
This 32 channel mod came from dji. Our Phantom 3's originally came out with this mod installed and was removed a few updates later on. Almost everyone began complaining and the mod to reinstall was allowed to be leaked out and performance had once again returned.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
285
Reaction score
50
Age
53
I just unlocked dji go app to 32 ch to recieve signal better.what a great result!
My bird is PT 3 adv all stock from box and flied in same area.She can go 4.5 km after 32ch before that she can go only 2-2.5 km in this area.

Is this only for DJI Go or can it be done on Litchi?
 
  • Like
Reactions: lablover
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
4,308
Reaction score
936
Location
Indy, USA
Is this only for DJI Go or can it be done on Litchi?
I don't know for sure but I thought that litchi ca e with it's own set of extra channels to use?
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,376
Reaction score
3,149
Location
Western US
Do you know of a good resource that describes the communications between a P4 and the RC?
No sir, I dont. My assumption is that communication between a P4 and the RC is basically the same as with the P3. I'm not sure enough though to give a definitive answer. Maybe someone will chime in, or perhaps you can try asking in the P4 section of the forum. Cheers!
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,109
Messages
1,407,677
Members
99,043
Latest member
JbroDrone