Unedited 4K vs 720P video - Why does 720P look so much better?

T

TriadAerial

I've had my P3P for a few weeks now and I just can't understand why all the videos above 720P look so awful. I get all kinds of lines and artifacts unless I film with 720P. My preference has been 720P/60FPS which gives decent results. But shouldn't it look better at 1080P, 2.7K and 4K? I've attached 2 videos and they are both taken straight from the SD Card and untouched. Filming the exact same scene, one on 4K Vivid 3840x2160 and the other on 720P Vivid 1280x720. I like the "Vivid" setting as it adds a lot of color and saturation. Without it everything looks so washed out and I'm not good with post editing yet. I have tried every frame rate, resolution and other setting I can think of and it always comes down to 720P giving me the best result. I'm hoping someone can shed some light here why I have to use the lowest quality setting to achieve a good looking video.

Thanks everyone!

Perhaps your device and or computer can not handle the higher frame rates.
Have you tried 1080P at 30FPS?

I had some videos to attach but they're in MOV format and apparently that's not accepted. I've loaded them into Filmora and am exporting as MP4 and will send shortly. My plan was to show everyone the untouched videos but putting them in YouTube would obviously edit the quality and what I'm doing now will probably also affect it. Stand by!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Ok I've put together a short clip showing both 4K and 720P and uploaded to youtube.

But here's the thing.. when watching these videos originally straight from the SD Card on my computer, the 4K videos looked awful which was my whole complaint while 720P looked pretty good. After putting them in Filmora and exporting them out as 1920x1080 MP4 files, I'm shocked now that the 4K video looks much better. And after uploading to YouTube, I'm shocked again because the 4K looks even slightly better now.