Tutorials for manual-mode flying?

Reaction score
Does anyone know of any good tutorial videos (or posts) for manual-mode flying? I've had many years of experience flying "traditional" RC helis, so I should be OK with it, but I'd like to minimise the chances of breaking my expensive toy :).

I've been playing around with manual mode for a little while but I don't think I'm good enough to do a tutorial just yet, unless you just wanna see how the controls work. It's very different from gps and atti, but I'll explain it the best I can.(I'm using fc40 as reference) Once you're in manual mode, the light that usually flashes green/yellow/red will turn off, and it will start to fly up slowly so you have to play with the left stick to keep it level. Once you get that figured out, you can try moving forward but keep in mind that you don't hold the right stick up to go forward as you'll flip it, you just move it up a little and let go, and you'll keep going forward until you push the right stick down a little to either stop or to level it out. If you roll left or right, it's the same thing, you don't hold it down, and you have to pull in the opposite direction to level out again. The controls in manual mode are also more sensitive and it will fly much faster than atti mode. I think that covers it for the most part, I also highly reccomend flying high up in the air when testing manual mode for the first time because it can get away from you or drop from the sky very fast! Also, one lifesaving tip is to remember, when things go bad, just flip it into atti or gps and it'll level itself and will even flip back over if you're upside down.

kitari said:
The controls in manual mode are also more sensitive and it will fly much faster than atti mode.

I also highly commend flying high up in the air when testing manual mode for the first time because it can get away from you or drop from the sky very fast!