Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Trying to repair after crash. Wiring to camera question

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Henry D, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all. I searched the forum and couldn't find my answer. I'm in great need of help. My friend and I bought a P3S together. First flight was great. I had researched everything. I'm precautious, so it went great. So the next day we were going to take it out again. I had to work so my buddy came to get it to go solo. About an hour later I get "THE" call. He had clipped a tree limb and crashed. The camera or gimbal did not break, just the damper and the wiring ribbon and there is a black and grey wire hanging out that I have no idea what they are or where they go to. This is what I need help with. I ordered what I thought was all the wiring and replacement parts from DJI, but I don't know what to do with the black and grey wires. I've already taken the top shell off of it and was able to replace the ribbon to the camera. The gimbal and camera "appear" to be ok. The wiring ribbon was completely ripped and the mysterious grey and black wires.. they don't appear ripped. If they were attached to something they were pulled out :(

    Unfortunately, I wasn't there when the crash happened. He brought to me in two pieces. drone + gimbal. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    may have found my answer already..
     
  3. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Got some pictures??
     
  4. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    This is what you need.. The wires plug in here..

    [​IMG]
     
    Paul Pollard likes this.
  6. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. I figured it out lastnight after finding this exact photo. Thank you. The wires had pull directly out of the posts but the connectors were undamaged. I was able to re-attach the wires to the post. I took it out for a test flight. First 10 minutes or so was good then I started dropping video signal. I think one or both wires maybe came lose from the wind. I was skeptical if they would stay. I think I will try the antenna mod in the other thread as well.
     
  7. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't find the link for the external antenna mod. I'd like to purchase one. Can someone point me in the right direct. (newb here)
     
  8. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Search DBS Mod on the Forum-- all the information that you could possibly want to know is there.
     
  9. Henry D

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would be content with getting my stock antennas back attached without having to replace the wires or open that shell again. That was a pain. Ok thanks.
     
  10. Paul Pollard

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello where can I purchase those 2 black wires with the connectors on both ends. Thanks.
     
  11. Jkolson209

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crashed mine and need these wires also. Anyone know where to get them?
     
  12. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    It is possible the reason you are dropping signal is because these are not just wires , they are shielded cables so to speak. There is a very small (thin) wire running down the middle that is the actual hook up. These cables are very cheap on Amazon , just bought a couple myself for a P3S I just bought from a guy who crashed it. I think when he saw what the repair cost would be he decided to sell and start over. But if you do the work yourself it's not so bad. I have seen a set of these antennas with cable attached for about 20 bucks on the net . Good luck , hope you get it going !
     
  13. redlion13

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are ur vidieo 2.4 gi antenna wire like the ones in ur rc control cost abt 18.00 what I need to know is what the bundle of grey wires do. I ran mine with the blackwire loose and grey one hook up was able to get vidieo for 1000 ft .I got to smart for my own good tried to take parts and put on 2 nd camera that the little connecter was not broke on so I could hook the black wire up, now it does not show vidieo and the camera does not do the little twisting action and go in postion. says hardware and gimbol roll need corrected. A guy on u tube shows a p3s torn down and these antennas being replaced, if I find his site again I will put it here.
     
    #13 redlion13, Aug 19, 2017 at 2:46 AM
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017 at 2:58 AM
  14. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Those 2 cables are the 2.4Ghz 'wi-fi' cables and connect to the antennas in the bird. The 'wi-fi' module is in the gimbal :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Trying repair crash Forum Date
Broken remote and trying to repair Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 9, 2017
Trying to repair p3 pro. Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 11, 2016
Video feed loss after trying to repair gimble Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Sep 29, 2014
Three Quick Green Flashes When Trying To Start Motors Phantom 1 Help Wednesday at 1:32 PM
Trying the no live feed fix Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Jul 21, 2017