Total Newbie Building Confidence

Reaction score
Well, I got my P3A on Wednesday. I'm obviously excited and am trying to build confidence in a few things.

Short back story, I used to fly RC planes when I was 13-16. It was fun, but it was a different time. I'm now 44. The technology has obviously changed!

I am having a hard time with confidence for some reason. I used the sim and have flown, mostly just up to see how stable it is, and back down. A little bit of flying to get my bearings but something has me a little freaked out. I thought the plane background would help. I'm not sure it does. It looks so different than a plane, and flys VERY different! Great and freaky! lol

I'm not sure if it's the cost of these, which I didn't consider much when I was younger, or that I can see on the monitor from up there, or that my eyes aren't what they used to be, or what....

The biggest factor has been the wind. The night I got it I flew up in 11 mph winds. It was fine. The next day we had sustained 35 mph winds with gusts to 45. I didn't fly that day obviously. Yesterday and today the winds have been between 11-18. I guess I don't remember thinking about wind this much. I flew. Now though, I'm not sure if that's a lot of these or not.

Lastly, is the range. I really don 't trust it for some reason. I feel I don't want to "push it"...yet haven't gone beyond 100 feet! lol! Really?! yup!

So suggestions? I'm not a hyper stressed kind of person or anything. There's just so many new features...but they should make it better and more stable! right? :)

Greetings AP4me!

Phantoms are an amazing piece of technology! A huge step for you and me from the fixed wing era!

There is no reason for you not to take your time getting used to trusting yourself and the bird. Once you gain confidence, you'll find less stress and worry about flying.

Your P3A has a lot of safety features built into it like Glonass and US satellites to know where it is, and show you on the map.