Thinking of building a 550

Reaction score
I'm very new to the whole RC heli gig but totally into photography. I'm thinking of building a 550 for aerial photo/video purposes, so I can carry a larger payload and have longer flight times.

I'm not able to find a list of parts needed or anything like that. What do I need to build one? Is there a checklist or instructions on how to build one which isn't a youtube video?

Thoughts? Better suggestions?

You have a Phantom now?

I switched from a Phantom to a F550, but am still missing my first FPV / video flight. Reason for moving was more stable platform and larger payload. Have the following;

F550 arf kit
Futaba T8J TX+RX
Naza M V2 + GPS
zenmuse plate F550
retractable landing skids
Arris CM3000 gimbal
iOSD mini
DJI can hub
immersion 600mw tx
immersion duo rx
8" FPV screen
tripod legs for screen
5000mah 3s + 5000mah 4s batteries

Where did you obtain those 5000mah batteries? I just built a Jumper 600 and probably could use one or two. Would prefer a USA source.

I ordered a parallel XT60 harness yesterday. Was thinking of just using two of my Phantom's 2200mah batteries in parallel until I came to a decision on a proper 5000mah battery.

PF

mediaguro

Just order a DJI Flame F550....all the parts are there...just some assembly time needed. Plus there are different configurations depending on how much money you want to spend

Thanks thetac,

So I've found a few that range in the $370-$499 area for what seems to be everything needed for the body with no remote and no battery. Does that sound correct?

This Kit comes includes the following
1 x F550 Flame Wheel Frame Set
6 x DJI 2212-920kv Motors
6 x DJI 30A OPTO ESC's
6 x 10" Props/Blades
6 x 8" Props/Blades

So I'd need a controller and battery?

Can the controller for the phantom control the 550?