That RTH stuff works....It really does! :-)

Reaction score
So, I'm a developing newbie.

Yesterday, I'm out at a Missouri State park (Cuivre River) on a cloudy day.

There's this scenic overlook atop a cliff, where you can look down on many square miles of river, farmland, pastures, etc. An excellent flight point.

This is the next stage of extending my limits, as I know if it goes "down".... I'm likely never to find it given the spanse of the flight area. I do have Marco Polo, but it would have been difficult finding my way around the low lands.

Anyway, I've get Sadie 2 out about 3/4 of a mile at 300 feet or so doing my thing. Some video, some pics.

I decide to bring it back at about 50% battery, so I hit RTH.

Shortly thereafter, the video goes blank and all telemetry is frozen! Enter panic mode!!!

I'm fightling like heck, trying to figure out what went wrong in such a uncomplicated (open) environment. I did get a no cellular warning before takoff, but that didn't worry me. Was it now an issue? I had a ten satellite fix on takeoff.

I"m now fearing the worst of what's about to happen.

Wife standing next to me says: THERE IT IS! STRAIGHT UP!

I'm like, what the heck? My frozen telemetry says its still out at 2500 feet or so.... Now, there's Sadie 2 starting a slow decent straight overhead!

I'm trying to regain control for a soft landing, but she's not responding. Just doing her landing thing.

My helipad was about three feet from my car, and Sadie 2 comes down ontop of the car itself. Bounces around a bit, then lands perfectly near the helipad.

Long story short, you guessed it: I hit the transmitter POWER button instead of the RTH button, turning off the RC!!!

So, she came home on loss of signal...

Are these things the cat's meow, or what? :tongueout:

A few pics, yeah I know... I had the shutter speed set a bit low....

Attachments

• DJI_0137.JPG
    DJI_0137.JPG
    314.3 KB · Views: 448
  • DJI_0142.JPG
    DJI_0142.JPG
    542.1 KB · Views: 349