That range issue..

Reaction score
Guys i'm new to drones but i know 270m distance is a very low number. Actually before getting the phantom 3 standard, i wanted to have that 1km range to get cool fpv and stuffs, but know i got it i realise that 500m is just good for me (at the moment). I know that trees, buildings and stuffs like that may reduce my range but i get on top of my house, that means no trees or other buuldings on my altitude, and at 270m i lost the signal.. That's quite dissapointing. I tried these diy antennas (parabolic boosters) but still nothing. I'm getting an ebay one but honestly i don't think it's gonna do something. Also, i wanted to ask you, what's the best altitude to achieve higher range? Any other recomendations? Thank you!
a2651f61e9b9bf6d2a81ccce5df933b3.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Nino, make sure you're RC antenna is turned so its perpendicular to the drone. If drone is above you, then point the antenna so it's parallel to the ground. If drone is straight out in front of you then bend the antenna so its vertical. I know it helps with mine....most of the time. Dji has a tutorial on this on their forum.

I do my best with this and still getting this range.. Thanks you by the way!

The problem is i can't afford something like this at this time. Can you tell me the most common altitude for longer range please?

Ninos, I honestly don't know the answer to that. I had mine at 400ft with no signal issues on one day and another day I would get loss of signal at that height for a second then it would come back. It just depends on environment and what obstacles are around.

I find higher goes further. On distance flights I'm at 396'.

Bighorny you mean 396 meters?
Dirty Bird, i would say both but mostly video signal and i have to find out the orientation to safely bring it back to me (sometimes i use the maps within dji go app)