Taco gimbal - app controls wrong servo

Reaction score
After a bit of frustration, I finally have a Taco 3D Power gimbal working on my P2V. Except the app control isn't quite right.

I guess I have a newer rev of the gimbal, the control pins don't match any of the photos or docs on Taco's site (they show a pin block with 9 or 12 pins... mine only has 6). I've tested all the pins hooked up to the yellow pin of the Phantom's cable (being sure to power down before moving to the next), and the only pin that shows any activity at all is pin 2.

The problem is the app is controlling the gimbals ROLL rather than PITCH.

The gimbal is rock-solid otherwise... so the main control leads have to be in the right place. It's just the external pin for app control that seems to be confused.

Anybody have any ideas?

Thanks!
-C

Hello
Can you please post pics of the gimbal, plugs, pins, and how you hooked to naza, this will better help me,, to provide assistance to You.
Most likely a jumbled wire somewhere. But I would be glad to help. Almost sounds like pitch, and roll motors connected backwards, on BGC.( brushless gimbal controller ), Or gimbal main board as most call it.
Let us know!

J Dot
:cool:

Reactions: dirkclod
I will try, thanks Jerry. I'll take pics and try to trace the routes when I get home.

It does seem like, if the motors were connected backwards, you'd be able to see it in the actual gimbal motion though. Wouldn't you? Like I said, if I test the gimbal, waving the Phantom around randomly, it's absolutely rock-solid. Picture doesn't move. If it thought the pitch was the roll and the roll was the pitch, wouldn't you see it in the gimbal motion?

Anyway... I'll work on pics shortly. Thanks for the help!

Some pics.

Motor connections.
Tilt is connected to the front pins, roll to the rear. I did switch them just for fun, and as I thought, the gimbal flitted about like a rabid animal. So it would take a lot to convince me that the connections are wrong.