Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Switching DJI Phantom 3 controller from Mode 2 to Mode 1

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Glenn-BoB, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. Glenn-BoB

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi there. New to the drone world and hoping I can get some help. I've seen other posts and youtube videos for changing from Mode 2 to Mode 1 on older model controllers but I haven't seen anything for the Phantom 3 Advanced controller. I did watch a transmitter upgrade tutorial and it looks like there is a lot more to opening up this controller than the older models so I haven't tried it. I guess my main question is once you get the controller open to the electronics is it basically the same switch as the older models or is there something else to it.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,617
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Are you referring to switching between CE and FCC? If so, that's no longer a manual setting. It's auto set by your Phantom's current GPS location.
     
  3. Glenn-BoB

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, I'm referring to switching the sticks on the controller so that my left one does what my right one does and vise versa. Would also like to get my up/down throttle inverted but that's a whole other ball of wax. You see I'm a gamer and I'm so use to the controls on the Playstation that I am having a terrible time figuring out how to maneuver.
     
    ianzone likes this.
  4. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London UK
    You can configure the sticks to how you want them in Remote Controller Settings in the GO app.
     
    Glenn-BoB likes this.
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,617
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    You can change the stick mode in the "Remote Controller Settings" --> "Stick Mode" section of DJI GO.
     
    Glenn-BoB likes this.
  6. Glenn-BoB

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I didn't see that anywhere in there. I shall check again. Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Glenn-BoB

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's more like it. Guess I should open my eyes. Thx.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    ianzone likes this.
  8. bonzokaye

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont have a device yet to run the app is there another way to change to mode 1
     
  9. jillip

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    g'day fellow Phantom Pilots: (although I have not got mine off the ground yet!)

    Can we get back to Glenn-BOB original posting : I have the same problem
    Correct me if I am wrong, but what we are talking about is physically changing the throttle action from the left (MODE 2) to the right (MODE 1)

    The controller is the new 'throttle hold' type

    looking forward to your replies
    .... many thanks


    p.s. strange how MJX-X101 has a controller which can operate under MODE 1,2,3,4
     
  10. KongWerks

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    48
    On the P3S it is changeable in the app from mode 1, mode 2, mode 3 and custom - where you can set the sticks anyway you want them to work.
     
  11. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    New zealand
    Wow Yip had to say it,,,I like the KISS pic in signature photo...
     
  12. jillip

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you KongWeks, and ianzone
    l, up to this P.I.T. have flown "manual" helis and quads. .... physically [getting out the screwdriver) changing gimbIes are well documented (even two YTs for the P3s)

    Before, Manually, I always would start the quad, with throttle in 0% position and on the RHS ............up till now!!!

    yes, I checked MODE 1 when I activated, .... and yes now the R stick acts as a throttle (up and down) .... changing the throttle lock over from LHS to the RHS still puzzles me

    I understand now that I can start, with the throttle in the centre position ! .... all this GPS is amazing !

    ........ hope my post at least helps others who come to the p3s purely from a 'manual' environment !
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Switching DJI Phantom Forum Date
Switching to a new DJI account General Discussion May 25, 2017
Switching from P3S to P3P. A few questions about DJI Go and others. Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 14, 2017
DJI Go App recycles when switching to video recording mode Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 8, 2017
Switching to GPS mode for use with the DJI iPhone App General Discussion Jan 6, 2015
Switching from P Mode to Sport Mode problems Phantom 4 Discussion May 11, 2017