Switching between the P•A•F modes

Reaction score
Can the phantom be flown
Greater distance in one mode vs another?
I'm new to this phantom flying and I haven't posted a lot in fear of embarrassing myself LOL

If I start a flight in A mode which is my understanding uses the camera and ground sensors and I go a good distance away and I decide to switch to P will it automatically switch or is that something I have to landed in order to switch back to P effectively?
what exactly does FPV mean I thought It just meant you could follow your flight along with the video you're receiving on your phone or tablet device?

Can the phantom be flown Greater distance in one mode vs another?
No. The multiple flight mode setting will not increase the RC or Lightbridge range. You can only increase the range by somehow modifying the antennas. A windsurfer range booster is easy to use or make yourself.

If I start a flight in A mode which is my understanding uses the camera and ground sensors and I go a good distance away and I decide to switch to P will it automatically switch
Yes, the mode will switch in real-time.

what exactly does FPV mean
First Person View. It basically means it's what you'd see if your eyes were where the camera is located.

Last edited:
I've been seeing more and more on the "windsurfer" do you use one?
Do you honestly think they work?
Looks like it just slides over the existing antennas

I don't use one -- but, yes, they really do work. It makes the antenna a bit more directional though. That means you'll have to be certain you're pointing your remote controller directly at your Phantom at all times.

Not to sound rude, but given your previous questions I would recommend you learn a bit more about flying and how the craft works (ie, what happens in each mode, how to control the quad in ATTI mode, how RTH works, what to do during signal loss, etc) before modding your controller for more distance.

I appreciate that.
I pretty much have a handle on those thank you