Sunhans 5.8 Ghz Amplifier - Attenuator Question

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am in the process of upgrading my 5.8 Ghz (Control) signal. I have purchased a Sunhans 5.8 Ghz amplifier that accepts an input of 100mW (20dBm).

My question is from an attenuation point of view. It is my understanding that in FCC mode, the Phantom Controller will pipe out 100mW in power. But my concern is whether there is ever a point where the controller may output even more...I don't want to blow out the amp so I think I need to put an attenuator on the input side of the amp to keep the input power at 100 or below.

My problem is that I am not an engineer and I barely wrapped my head around what I just typed above ;)

Can anyone please shed some light and possibly recommend a specific type of attenuator that will suit this purpose....(if required at all)

Thanks!!!

I have been running my sunhans 5.8 amp without an attenuator in FCC for a couple of months now and have had no issues.

Seeing as how the amp will boost the signal at a factor of 10, do you think it would be safer to put the controller in CE mode, since the signal will be boosted anyway? If I do put it in CE mode, will that have an impact on the range when compared with FCC? The amp will boost the signal either way, but just wondering if the input power difference between CE and FCC will directly affect the output from the amp...Hope this makes sense...

LSD4me said:
Seeing as how the amp will boost the signal at a factor of 10, do you think it would be safer to put the controller in CE mode, since the signal will be boosted anyway? If I do put it in CE mode, will that have an impact on the range when compared with FCC? The amp will boost the signal either way, but just wondering if the input power difference between CE and FCC will directly affect the output from the amp...Hope this makes sense...

Im not sure, but that amp is phenominal. I will try out the performance in CE mode tomorrow and report back.

LSD4me said: