Suddenly..nothing? Transmitter issue?

Reaction score
I've seen similar posts so apologies if this is the same issue, but I'm still new to this so I don't know if the other questions answer mine. I flew the Phantom yesterday, got some more flight time in again today and everything flew fine. Take off, compass calibration, etc, all went well and it seemed my battery flight time was pretty nice. When the low battery lights came on, I shut the transmitter off and tried out the GPS return landing mode, which went off without a problem. I took the battery out, put in a new one, went through the pre-flight procedure, and once I got the green light, I pulled the sticks down to start the engine. Nothing. I thought maybe the batteries were dead on the transmitter, so replaced them, and again, nothing. My backup battery that was now in the Phantom was not from DJI but rather a similar power battery that I got from my local hobby shop (that sells Phantoms).
I've read many posts saying to upgrade firmware, make sure to test the transmitter or reset it. I've not done any downloads before my flights and up until the moment I changed batteries today, everything was working perfectly fine. Would it just shut down like that out of the blue without any changes?

First mistake is when you turn the TX off when the battery is low but fortunately your Phantom must not be very far off.
The RTH function is for emergency like you lost sight of it or you drop the TX and the TX went dead, etc.
Of course the CL and HL will also help you out when you lost orientation or it goes behind the tree or the wind caught it.

However, when you connect the second battery, you get the GREEN, so this means everything is in order: TX is connected, GPS locates 6 or more satellites. The only reason I can think of is that you have to re-calibrate your TX. This is because you chose to turn the TX off when you see the low battery signal (flashing RED) to activate the RTH.

Hans Groover said: