Straight up and straight down!

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I'm brand new to drones in general, but have been crazy excited about my new P4! I've flown 10 or so trips, half of them on beginner mode without a hitch. I've been so excited about the whole idea so my dad came over today to check it out. I've done all of my firmware updates, I ran through my checklist and conditions were perfect when I launched from my back yard.
I took the drone up to 10m and was demonstrating the gimbal when my dad asked how high it could go. I pushed up on the stick and the drone climbed up to roughly 100m and suddenly shut down! My heart stopped as suddenly as the propellers and I frantically tried to restart both as it fell from the sky. I was able to get the propellers going momentarily but couldn't save it from crashing and destroying the craft!
Obviously, this isn't a common thing, but it seems it isn't the first time it's happened and I was wondering if the group could potentially give me an idea as to what went wrong?
As I mentioned, I was increasing altitude, so I don't believe either of the sticks were in position to kill the motors.
Was it potentially the rate I was climbing?
Or, does this happen more often than I know?
It just seems like an expensive hobby if they just fall out of the sky from time to time.
Thanks in advance for your input...

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

At 100 metres high it is difficult to see if the props are turning, when you stop climbing the motor noise reduces quite dramatically. You say you tried to restart the motors, you may have inadvertently stopped motors that were already running.
The usual cause of a dramatic fall as you describe is an inadvertent CSC, or battery not securely installed.
As suggested by Grammaton upload your flight log and you will get an answer.

Reactions: maggiacman
Hello everyone.