Stoked!!!

Reaction score
Hey all!

New guy here. I work as a editor and motion graphics artist at an ad agency. We're looking at purchasing a Phantom to get started in AV. After researching other multi's for the past 6 months, the Phantom looks to be a great choice to get started. Very happy with what i've seen so far.

Anyone in the metro Detroit area? If so, would love to come out and see it in action.

-john

here's fair warning -- this is a hobby thing. the moment you get into commercial usage, you fall into the FAA jurisdiction and they are prohibiting any commercial usage of rc crafts like the phantom.

It's a hobby you'll get addicted to!
(and hopefully you can skirt around the whole FAA crap).

good thing you (likely) know After Effects, it'll come in very handy!

Yeah, i looked at the whole FAA thing. Our client, one of the Big 3 automakers, doesn't seem to have an issue with it. We will be using it at HQ and other private areas ie; proving grounds. There's a Ford spot, people test driving eco boost cars on a race track and, with inside knowledge, an S800 was used. This is a fairly new spot too! I can always say " we used a jib arm", "a really, really long job arm" :)

AE will come in handy!

:lol: how long of a jib arm can you get? :lol:

if you are seriously looking at doing professional shots, go with the bigger s800. it is by far more stable, and able to carry the kind of equipment you will be wanting to use for a serious shoot. yes, you can get nice shots with this, but you probably already know the quality of a real production camera vs the gopro. there's no harm in using the phantom as a stepping stone to learn the flight mechanics if you are just getting into this, but i would seriously be looking at the s800 or equivalent for a professional shoot.

auck said: