Stick Control Issue

Reaction score
I finally got the chance to get my P4 airborne this weekend; just some simple take offs, hovers, run around the yard a bit to get a feel for the RC and response (I'm a noob and wanna take baby steps so I don't crash this thing!). I had heard these things were rock steady, but it: 1) won't hold a firm hover, drifts sideways and down, and 2) later in the day, the stick forward stopped working (it worked earlier just fine). Stick back, side to side, up, down and yaw worked fine....just no forward. Had to yaw it around and back it over to the landing spot for touchdown. One other oddity; I was practicing doing soft touchdowns (and was able fine control it down like a feather early in the day, but later, it would shudder just as I was touching down. Could have been me? but was having good success earlier.

I powered down everything and rebooted, did a controller calibration (not sure what that does? it didn't seem to do anything differently). The RC calibration is a confusing operation to perform in comparison to how finite the other calibrations are with this product)...and still the same problem with no forward stick. I had previously done a dead level IMU calibration (used a bubble to get the table calibrated first) before the compass calibration and I get green bars on all of the IMU and compass readings. GPS was good...9 satellites at the time.

Any thoughts?

PS...new to all of this and really enjoy the chatter and the wealth of info and insight.

No forward doesn't make sense. Could it be the OA system?

An observation I will offer is that if your new to this your back yard is the worse place to practice. Open areas are much better with enough height to clear any obstacles.