Steady Red Light and Compass Err Message

Reaction score
Dear ladies and gentlemen,

i am a complete rookie and hope you can help me! I had my first flights with my phantom 2 - and it works amazing.

On my last flight i crashed from about 5 feet. No damages from the outside as far as i can see. But now when i turn the phantom 2 on i get a steady read light (after the power on self test). See image attached. I connected to the pc and there i get the compass err message (see screenshot!).

The copte still turns on the usual way - and would lift off but i am too afraid to fly. Please help me - i would really use my days off now to fly a little - it was so much fun!

I am really counting on your help.

Greets

Martin (from Austria)

Attachments

• Screenshot Phantom.jpg
    Screenshot Phantom.jpg
    256.9 KB · Views: 531
  • Foto Phantom 2 - Dauer-Rot-Licht.jpg
    Foto Phantom 2 - Dauer-Rot-Licht.jpg
    414.9 KB · Views: 583
Welcome to the forum.
Have you calibrated the compass after the crash?

Thanks for the reply. When I switch the little switch on the top right corner of my remote control (6 times). I think that's how I calibrate the compass. The problem is the red light stays on and nothing happens.

i did both:
the imu calibration was done - no change
i controlled all the cables - nothing seems to be loose - still the same problem

what i realized is that in the imu calibration the gyroscope and acceleration numbers are changing as i move the copter but the compass(raw) data all stays at zero. - see attached image

Hope you guys can help me! I want to fly so badly.

Attachments

• compasserr.jpg
    compasserr.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 467
Read the manual about how to calibrate the compass. It will say to flick the S1 switch 8 times or so and then do a compass dance. Did you do that? I see that your screen shot says compass error. If you didn't do the dance, then the manual will tell you how to do it.