Stay calm ! Prevent "Fly Away's"

Reaction score
So I was pushing the setup for distance with video and get to almost 3000' lose signal for a second everything comes back but video. Close app reopen have all telemetry still no video. Stop filming close app still nothing. By now I've adjusted position moved a bit video wont come back. :(

I panicked a little because I'm still a rookie under 100 flights. I just hate to rely on HL or RTH. Using the Primary flight display and watching telemetry I was able to get her home. Well almost ... I passed myself twice first time 1200 feet out and then to 700 then battery warning :eek: hit home loc and brought her in. I was still off from where I thought it was but I was working it closer.

So as the title reads all I'm letting the rest of the rookies know is don't panic stay calm and think your actions through. I know every wreck I have had was because I panicked.

I have not ever tried radar view ? I don't even know how to get to it.

Well losing the video had me wondering so I was just checking it out and now I cant even connect to the camera at all.
what would have caused that everything is charged up??
Its not getting the repeater info Looking like a reset and maybe have to re bind it?

Strange.

Radar view is really useful, in my opinion. It's in the manual. Just touch the artificial horizon, bottom left. You'll get a top down "radar style" view showing the aircraft's orientation and its bearing from you. I tend to keep it on all the time when operating at the edge of visual range as a check on orientation should things go a bit pear-shaped.

As to your current issue, I'm not sure why you're not connecting. If you have extender and aircraft switched on, and the camera's on/off/wifi switch all the way over to the right you should be seeing the Phantom_xxxxxxx SSID. Is the system light on the range extender flashing green, showing data going to and from the camera?

well crap