Stage 1&2 Battery Level Tail Light Warnings

Reaction score
I took my P2 out for a flight this evening and as usual made sure the aircraft was in full view by the time the iOSD was reading 30% battery life but this time there was something different - the rear LEDs were flashing rapid red, level 2 battery warning (suggesting <15% power remaining).
As I had intended to run the battery right down anyway I held on to one of the skids and waited for the motors to quit; which they did at 15% as indicated on the iOSD.
I've never done this before but I have often flown back with a little less than 30% many times and to the best of my knowledge I have never had rapid red flashing LEDs.
The batteries were fully charged but hadn't been flown for a 10 days or so, the only difference with today's flight is that I had recently calibrated the IMU and upgraded to v3.04.
So if you rely on your iOSD, particularly if you have upgraded to v3.04 it may pay you to keep a close eye on the Phantoms LED lights, at least for a few flights to ensure they agree with your display.

Re: A WARNING for iOSD users!!!

Are you sure that the IOSD is at fault and not the battery? I've just had a battery replaced as I was getting strange values output on the IOSD ranging from 255% down to 10%. I knew the IOSD wasn't faulty as this didn't happen with other batteries I tried.

There are several postings on the forum about spurious readings from batteries

Hi, I've just tried it out with my two other batteries and I suspect I may have been mistaken about the %tages - the flights went as follows.

Steady green flashing lights at the rear until 30%

Rapid red flashing lights from 30% down to 15%

Auto land initiated at 15% or just below.

I didn't have time to check the original battery this evening but there is one issue that I'm not in any doubt about and that is the Phantom goes from steady green to stage 2 warning at 30% with no stage 1 steady red flashing light phase.

WessexWyvern said: