So just to be clear...

Reaction score
Right now taking any videos or pictures for a realtor WITHOUT an FAA license is illegal and might?...probably? ...could? get prosecuted right? BUT Aug 29th law changes and this can be done without issue correct?

Sent from my SM-T800 using PhantomPilots mobile app

Also to be clear this would be done as a hobby whenever and not as being a realtor myself or for a business. I would however... when legal.. charge the realtor wanting the work done. Thanks for the help

Right now, it's only legal if you have a 333 exemption and follow the rules from your approved exemption.

Also to be clear this would be done as a hobby
It's only a hobby if nobody is making money. If you truly want to fly for hobby purposes, then head out to your favorite flying spot and fly for fun.

Right now taking any videos or pictures for a realtor WITHOUT an FAA license is illegal and might?...probably? ...could? get prosecuted right?
For all the fuss and despite the number of people that must have been doing a little commercial use on the side without a 333, the FAA has not charged anyone for selling photos without an exemption.

For all the fuss and despite the number of people that must have been doing a little commercial use on the side without a 333, the FAA has not charged anyone for selling photos without an exemption.
True. The OP is asking what is lawful though.

If you charge, that's commercial use. When Aug 29, arrives, it's still commercial use and you will still have to be registered as a commercial operator according to part 107. In other words, come Aug 29th, it's STILL an issue. It will simply be a little easier to get a commercial registration but you MUST have one to use it commercially. Google " Part 107" for more details.