Simplest Solution for FPV Glasses/Goggle Flying?

Reaction score
Hello to all,

Total newbie, here, so please be gentle. :)

Seriously, I'm so glad to have found this amazing set of forums. I sure wish I had found this community and read this sticky note...

viewtopic.php?p=35718#p35718

... before I experienced my own first "flyaway." I didn't understand why Phantom's Pilot Training Manual had a "don't panic" note until then!

I mean, there's nothing BUT panic when your $1200 pride and joy is a dot that keeps getting smaller and smaller. But, true to its promise to return home, it did indeed (and against a stiff tradewind at that!). It landed within a few feet of us, battery alarms going off for the last couple of minutes. Exciting!

--

Anyway, I must admit that, even after a few more practice sessions, I have had trouble staying oriented once the battery orientation changes.

So I tried to imagine that I'm the pilot, seeing what he sees regardless of direction, and just steer according to that. If the copter is 90 degrees left (off the original), it's easier to remember that flying left (relative to me) is now "right toggle up" since THAT is now "straight ahead."

That has helped. However, when it gets further away/higher up, it gets hard to see (even plastered with stickers) what the orientation is. And doing figure-8s with the camera always pointing straight ahead? That's going to take some time to master, especially with my sense of direction.

And THAT is when I had the thought "why not BE the pilot immersively, with glasses?"

One tends to ignore the phone app because it's awfully hard seeing either the iPhone or Samsung S3 in the sun. Even if it was visible, it's hard enough running two controllers, let alone adjusting the tilt of the camera using the phone's app, all at the same time.

I had no idea if these glasses existed, but discovered an industry of products for this acronym, FPV.

--