Simple question about flight range/distance..

Reaction score
I recently bought a Phantom Vision 2+, so I'm very new to flying. I've made a couple of flights so far. All settings are as they would be right out of the box. 

I'm wondering if I take off from a spot, then either walk or ride as I fly. Will it basically have unlimited distance as long as I stay near within the stock controller range? Or is it only limited to a certain distance from its initial take off point? 

Hope my questioning is clear. Thanks for any help!

You could walk, but you would be limited by battery life. I wouldn't suggest trying to drive. Too easy to lose signal unless you were hanging out the passenger window as someone else drove. But no, you are not limited to where you take off in regards to distance.

If you are moving (walking or riding in a car) and reset your home point as you move, it seems very likely that you should be able to keep your aircraft aloft so long as you maintain a communicative distance between your RC and your aircraft. But if you do not reset your home point, with GPS, your aircraft will know it is beyond the designated range from home and, I believe, it will attempt to return to home when it reaches that threshhold. I'd love to hear other people's thoughts as well.

Honey Badger said:
I recently bought a Phantom Vision 2+, so I'm very new to flying. I've made a couple of flights so far. All settings are as they would be right out of the box. 

I'm wondering if I take off from a spot, then either walk or ride as I fly. Will it basically have unlimited distance as long as I stay near within the stock controller range? Or is it only limited to a certain distance from its initial take off point?