Shell Crumbling

Reaction score
Has anyone else pulled apart the shell and put it back together just to have the screws crack the plastic everywhere they are! I really don't feel I over torqued these, or didn't at the time, but literally the thing just crumbled around each screw!

Anyone else with bad experiences here?

that is what I seem to be finding. I am just amazed that it could take that effect in literally 10min.
But the plastic definitely didn't just crack, it almost changed forms in some cases to a soft, darn near thick paste or almost like an not quite cured clay texture.
Needless to say, I am forced to get the shell replaced. Would be cool to see some aftermarket carbon fiber or better designed/supported plastic shells....

I am completely new to RCs...so I guess this is how I gotta learn!
Thanks again!

motobtn said:
that is what I seem to be finding. I am just amazed that it could take that effect in literally 10min.
But the plastic definitely didn't just crack, it almost changed forms in some cases to a soft, darn near thick paste or almost like an not quite cured clay texture.
Needless to say, I am forced to get the shell replaced. Would be cool to see some aftermarket carbon fiber or better designed/supported plastic shells....

I am completely new to RCs...so I guess this is how I gotta learn!
Thanks again!

Oof, yeah, Loctite eats plastic. At least it's not a super expensive fix.

New shells are only $50-$65
or rather,. they will be once dealers actually get them in stock!@# :evil: :twisted:

I'd love to see a more robust frame as well, as I crashed mine 3 weeks ago, the arms are definitely a bit weak.
.. and I'm still waiting for a new shell.

exactly the same problem I have run into, not being able to get the new shell!
Sounds like they are getting them in a couple weeks, but I would love not to have to wait that long...

motobtn said:
exactly the same problem I have run into, not being able to get the new shell!