Shaving altitude - ATTI mode

Reaction score
I have noticed a few strange things when I fly. One is probably an illusion. Since I'm an inexperienced pilot I'm sure it takes getting used to before you can really judge. First, as the AC goes away it looks like it is getting closer to the ground. I have noticed this on flat ground. It is really weird. I put the AC up about 30 meters and as it flies away it looks like it is getting closer to the ground. I check the telemetry and note that it isn't showing that it is gaining or reducing in elevation. As I fly it closer to me it seems like it is getting higher. Does anyone understand why this is?? or is this just old man eyes.

Second, I know when I fly my Phantom in ATTI mode it absolutely does shave altitude. It is something that you really have to pay attention to if you are at the edges of VLOS. To be honest I haven't flown ATTI and looked at telemetry to determine if the AC is showing a rate of descent. I just am not confident enough to do that yet. Is there something wrong with my Phantom or does everyone have a similar experience when flying ATTI.

Reactions: Chris K
In regards to the first part of your post I have to assume (without knowing distance you are flying away from you) that what you're seeing is the same thing you would see while watching an airplane leaving a con-trial. As the plane flies closer to you it looks like it rising in the sky. As it flies away it looks like it's lowering. It would be very helpful to know the distance that you observe the deflection from.

As for the second part of your post, I have to leave that up to the masters on this forum!!

Mark

I flew old school RC helicopters before the Phantom 3. The Phantom 3 taught me that I used to fly up as my helicopters went away and down as I approached although the I thought I was flying level....I knew it would look a little lower as I flew away but not that low....