Settings when shooting stills? or taking the still from video?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have tried to seach around other post but i dont really got my answer..

When you guys is taking stills, are you just taking it out of a video then, or are you actually taking stills?
(Got a P3A)
This summer im going turkey with my P3A to take some pictures of a house, and i would like to take some good stills in the sunset, but i am not sure of wich setting i should go for, i dont want to edit the image (at the momment i have NO knowledge at all with editing pictures)

Should i go for a fast shutter speed as possible?
What about sharpness etc?

I already ordered 3 ND filters, buy is this mostly for Video or also usefull for Stills?

Hope you can help a newbie :)

Best regards Nicolai, from Denmark!

Video for video and stills for pics. only takes seconds to switch mode

Play with settings to get best results depending on the situation/light/location. Shoot RAW format so you can remedy mistakes

Filters will be handy for both

I like to shoot in RAW with log color settings, but I touch up virtually all of my shots in post. ND filters are a must have for the camera on the phantom on account of the fixed aperture, especially on really bright days. The camera makes up for low light conditions buy cranking up the ISO, which can introduce a bunch of noise- it's tricky to find the longest functional exposure in order to keep the ISO down when shooting at night or dusk.

Watch some basic photography tutorials on youtube, even if they're not geared towards aerial cameras and try to get a grasp on the relationship between ISO, Aperture, and Shutter speeds.

If you need to, grabbing still from your video is *ok* quality but stills come out far better.

Okay, hm i read that if i shoot video in 60 fps my shutter should be 2x of the fps = 120, is there rule for the Stills of the shutter speed, i just think if i set it manually what should i "go for" ?