Scary RTH experience

Reaction score
Today I decided to fly my phantom 3 standard. A Shiny day. Not much wind at all. So I calibrated the aircraft. Then took off the unit. Slowly increased to 120 meters. Checked the battery level and other stuff. All were fine. Then I activated the home lock mod and verified my home location through this. Then I started to fly via FPV. Flew around 900 meters(I have installed magic power this is not the first time. My best range is 1800m) no problem at all. Then suddenly lost a connection. "Aircraft disconnected "kicked out. Actually, this is pretty normal. I have plenty of experiences like this. Then controller's LED light became red. Then I realized RTH should engage. After that, I toggled s2 switch as well. Then I waited approximately seven minutes. But there was no sign of my aircraft. I checked Dji go app. Still blank screen. I waited another 90 seconds. Then I felt I lost it. So I decided to turn off the controller. Still waiting, no sign of my aircraft. Heartbeat raised. I told my brother that I lost it and his face turned black. Then I heard the most wonderful sound in the world. I looked up and saw my aircraft was landing. Then I turn on my controller. Then I checked Dji go app and there was nothing on the screen. So I restarted the app and finally connected. So I grabbed my drone back. Battery level was around 50%. So usually app automatically connects back while the aircraft returning. But this time did not. In this case, I learned a lot of lessons. I have to keep the UAV in my sight. And the best thing to engage the RTH is turn off the controller and be patience. I am not an expert tho. Hope you guys have similar experiences. Happy flying all.

Last edited:
You shouldn’t have to engage RTH, if it’s a true signal loss and you have RTH set to return just let it do its thing. People have actually panicked and cancelled RTH trying to engage it, end up with the AC hovering until critical battery auto land kicks in.