Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Running DJI Go App on multiple devices ???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rpratali, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. rpratali

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, OH
    Newbie here. My Phantom 3 Advanced arrives on Monday. To prep I've been reading the manual, watching tons of videos, etc. Initially I plan to use the DJI Go App on my iPhone 5S to activate my P3A and to initially fly P3A. After I save up some cash (since I just dropped a lot on my P3A bundle) I eventually play to buy an inexpensive tablet so I can have a large screen, etc. Thhe question I have is, can after the initial activation on my iPhone 5S can I then switch to different devices to fly my P3A? If yes, do I need to transfer any configs, settings, etc?

    In addition, knowing that using to run the DJI Go App will quickly drine the battery on my iPhone 5S I'd like to have a secondary device (ex. iPad mini 3 / small table) on standby. Also, I may be upgrading to a new iPhone soon and want to know what happens when I switch phones.P

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have on my iPhone 5S.. Screen is to small. Ended up buying a iPad mini 2. The P3S runs on either. The bird links to its own wi-fi network that IT makes.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. druss2001

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    11
    I mostly use an iPad Air 2 but when in a pinch, I will switch to my iPhone 6 Plus. I don't have any issue switching between the devices but you may want to get into the habit of making certain the dji go apps are on the same version (though not necessary but recommended). Each flight data will be stored on the device used to fly with.
     
  4. rpratali

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, OH
    I have an old iPad 2. The screen will be large enough. But with that older device have enough processing power to properly run the DJI Go App / handle the video?
     
  5. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    So far, all is well with the iPad 2. I bought the iPad SOLELY for my bird. You might need to delete some apps if it loaded up with them. Go to settings, general, then about to see how much room you have on your old iPad. Hey,don't be discounting us "old stuff". Lol


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    Forgot to say I run and iPad 2 MINI


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. rpratali

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, OH
    I was able to install the app on my ipad2, but I won't know how well it works until I get my P3A and attempt to set things up.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,605
    Likes Received:
    7,763
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    An iPad 2 is too slow to run the DJI GO app. It would be best to use one of these devices.
     
    #8 msinger, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
  9. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've had no problems. You should be fine. Go forth and fly.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Jack P3S

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
  11. Ranger 007

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Illinois
    How are you able to install in on more than one device? I would like to install in on my lab top???
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,605
    Likes Received:
    7,763
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    You cannot install DJI GO on a laptop. You can install it on more than one Android/Apple mobile device though. Download and install DJI GO from the app store on your mobile device.
     
  13. Ranger 007

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Illinois
    Why??? That is nuts! There's so many quirk's about this products! They just sent me a new one after my first one was deemed defective! Now I have a new one and it needs firmware upgraded! The firmware upgrade has been out for months? They could have did that before they sent it to me! They said they checked everything? The phantom 3 business gets worst as every day goes by!
     
  14. Khooper802

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Oregon
    Regardless of the device you start on, you can fly the drone on anything, due to it using Wifi based connection, just make sure to sign into your same DJI account.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Running DJI App Forum Date
DJI android app, what's running in the background? Standard/4k Discussion Apr 3, 2016
How do you know which version of the DJI App your running? Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 22, 2016
Running the DJI APP General Discussion Aug 26, 2015
Compared: Air 2, Nvidia Shield, Nexus 9 - Running DJI Pilot App Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 4, 2015
Samsung Note 8.0 running Jellybean WORKS with DJI App...Litchi..no. Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Jun 26, 2015